Congenital Central Hypoventilation Syndrome(CCHS) Screening

Congenital Central Hypoventilation Syndrome(CCHS) is an Autosomal dominant hereditary disorder associated with respiratory center. Its incidence is approximately 1/10,000~1/200,000. Early diagnosis in newborns via gene testing provides adequate respiratory support and treatment to reduce sudden death at night and improve survival.

What is Congenital Central Hypoventilation Syndrome(CCHS)?

Congenital central hypoventilation syndrome (CCHS), is an Autosomal dominant hereditary disorder mostly found in newborns. The patients are usually free of neural, muscular, heart, brain or lung lesions, and show normal breathing pattern when awake.  Sleep apnea is usually onset within one month following birth. Babies may “forget to breath” due to breathing difficulty or insufficient ventilation. Statistical findings show that the incidence of CCHS is approximately 1/10,000~1/200,000. More than 90% patients are associated with repeat expansion mutation of PHOX2B. By early gene testing and diagnosis, it is possible to reduce sudden death at night and improve survival. The symptoms will gradually improve with age.

PHOX2B: Key gene of neonatal sleep apnea

The development of respiratory center is controlled by numerous genes, and PHOX2B (paired-like homeobox 2b) at chromosome 4p13 is considered the primary cause of CCHS. Publications show that more than 90% CCHS is associated with polyalanine repeat expansion mutation (PARM) of GCN. Normal PHOX2B gene has 20 GCN repetitions (with few less than 20), the pathogenic count of repetitions is mostly 24~33.

PHOX2B abnormality

Indications

  • All newborns
  • Concerned of neonatal sleep apnea

Screening procedure

1

Genetic consultation and education

2

Writing informed consent for neonatal gene screening

3

Collect blood sample from the newborn’s heel

4

Gene analysis report

This screening is a collaboration project by Phalanx Biotech and GenePhile Bioscience Laboratory (Ko’s Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinic). All tests are carried out by GenePhile Bioscience Laboratory.

Contact Us

新生儿呼吸中止症筛检

新生儿呼吸中止症是一种与呼吸控制中枢病变有关的体染色体显性遗传疾病,发生率约为1/10,000~1/200,000。此症若能在新生儿时期透过基因检查及早诊断出来,就能给予适当的呼吸辅助治疗,降低睡梦中猝死的机率,以提高新生儿的存活率。

什么是新生儿呼吸中止症?

新生儿呼吸中止症(先天中枢性换气不足症,简称CCHS),最常发生于新生儿时期,是一种常染色体显性遗传疾病,通常患有此症的宝宝没有神经、肌肉、心脏、脑部,或肺部的病灶,清醒时呼吸正常。呼吸中止常发生于宝宝出生后一个月内,发作时宝宝会在睡眠中产生呼吸不顺与换气不足,常常睡着就「忘了呼吸」。

根据统计发现,新生儿呼吸中止症发生率约1/10,000~1/200,000,并且有超过90%患者源自PHOX2B 基因扩增异常,因此若能在新生儿时期透过基因检查及早诊断出来,就能给予适当的呼吸辅助治疗,降低睡梦中猝死的机率,以提高新生儿的存活率。待患者长大后,病症将渐渐缓解而改善。

新生儿呼吸中止症的重要基因-PHOX2B

控制呼吸中枢系统发育相关的基因很多,而位于染色体4p13位置的PHOX2B (paired-like homeobox 2b)基因被认为是先天中枢性换气不足症的主要致病基因。依据文献报告,超过90%以上的CCHS患者系因PHOX2B基因的多丙氨酸序列(GCN)发生异常扩增突变(polyalanine repeat expansion mutation, 简称PARM)而致病。

PHOX2B 异常

适用对象

  • 所有新生儿
  • 担心新生儿有呼吸中止症问题

筛检流程

1

遗传咨询及卫教

2

填写新生儿基因筛检同意书

3

采集新生儿脚跟血

4

基因分析报告结果

本项筛检为华联生技与基因飞跃生命科学实验室(柯沧铭妇产科诊所)共同合作,所有相关检测皆由基因飞跃科学实验室执行。

联络我们